Escape into the Woods…

Happy 55th Merdeka Day Malaysia !!!

Merdeka….Merdeka…Merdeka!!!

Tanggal 31, bulan Lapan, 57….

31st August 2012

It’s 55th years Independence Day Celebration of my peaceful and beautiful mother country, Malaysia.  Despite of hoo haas and propas here and there due to election fever, which is coming soon…Lets forget politics, screw the status… We gather, We are truly one !!!

Yes ! We are…my Hotstaz, that’s what I called my dearest close friends, which they are like family to me. It has been a while we have not hook up like we used to…kind of missing our good old time though. I guess commitments and such make us pretty tied up and not so free for a sweet rendezvous…;-)

Finally, we chose Merdeka *Independence Day holiday break to gather and catch up again. After few discussions since early 2012, we agreed to something – to have a nite-out gathering in the woods during Merdeka *Independence Day cum Hari Raya *Eid ul Fitr Celebration week, which falls on 31st August. And there you go…all the booking, planning and arrangements started since February this year!!! That’s how early we have plan!!

The day has come. It was a bright morning with beautiful sun rays. All were packed, geared up and ready to enjoy the serenity of the nature. We are going in to the wood, people…far far away from all the city’s madness and civilisations – Sekeping Serendah, a private retreat place located in Rawang’s tropical rainforest, which is about one hour drive from Kuala Lumpur.

This amazing place has 7 sheds set within 5 acres forest and the most favourite shed is The Glass House, which we are going to be and stay for a night. Amazingly all sheds are nestled nicely, masked well with the surrounding that we can hardly see each shed even though they are pretty close to each other.

The Glass House…

I aware about this place and started to admire it since it start open to public last 6 years ago. What I like the most about this place is the beauty of the nature, the architecture and the landscape. It just happened that I know the architect who designs it and he is one of my mentors…Mr Ng Seksan., the man with nature.

We reached there around 2pm. The journey was quite an experience but after we saw the Glass House…That’s totally IT!!…Awesssooome!! I was so amazed with the shed. It is very transparent and so well ventilated. All materials used are sustainable and green…simple, hardwearing and easy to maintain…I feel fresh and it’s like back to nature…I LOVE IT !!!

We settled down, packed our stuff, looked around the house, took loads loads of pictures while waiting for my Hotstaz arrival. Around 6pm, we set up our BBQ pit and started the fire…

Almost all my Hotstaz turned up…I can hear they were like astonished with the place too…with the “Whooaaa…Ohhhh…WOW…Niceeee”…etc. They just love the place like I do. We huddled, we chatted, we laughed, we ate and we were even wrapped in all in white attire! Natural in Nature…just perfect! Adults gathered at the alfresco balcony near the food and fire, children were all up on the loft, having their kiddos momentous…everything went smoothly alright…!!

All White Hotstaz merdeka Raya…!

It was almost midnight. My guess slowly made a move …left the place in batches with the smile on their face. Goodnight and Goodbye…left few of us as the organizer to spend a night in the house. Exhausted but satisfied, clock strikes 2am and we finally called it a night!!

Threw myself on the huge bed, hide inside the suspended traditional mosquito net surrounded with all the sounds of nature…after a few blinks, I was in the lala land…;)

The loft with 2 huge bed and traditional mosquitoes net…

The morning after was pretty bliss…How I missed the freshness of the forest’s morning breeze…the morning dew’s zest… the song of the birds chirping…Gosh! I am so going to miss this place.

We had our simple breakfast and enjoyed the moment till it last. 12 noon we were all ready to check out…while walking to the car, I cannot stop thinking about the great moment we had last night and somehow I feel so touch when I learned part reasons of the gathering last night was to be with me before my Surgery Procedure soon…I am so Blessed !!!

Okay then,  Sekeping Serendah, Thank you for a beautiful momentous.

I will surely be back !!!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

